Eagles land in Accra, ready for Sierra Leone

The Super Eagles landed in the Ghanaian capital, Accra on Sunday night and immediately proceeded to the town of Takoradi by road ahead of Monday’s WAFU Cup of Nations Tournament Group A clash with the Leone Stars.

The trip to Takoradi, where all the participating teams except host team Ghana are being accommodated took four hours.

Nigeria’s flag-bearers are accommodated at the Best Western Hotel in the twin city of Sekondi.

Eagles’ Team Administrator, Dayo Enebi Achor confirmed to thenff.com that the Nigerian team would depart Takoradi for Cape Coast (one-and-half hours by road) at 3pm on Monday for the game against the Leone Stars that is scheduled to kick off at 6pm, Ghana time (7pm Nigeria time).

Victory over the Leone Stars will take Nigeria into the tournament’s group phase contest that will see the surviving eight teams divided into two groups of four teams each.

Hosts Ghana and Guinea are among the teams that have made it into the group phase, after the Ghanaians survived a tough duel with The Gambia 1-0 and Guinea came from behind to edge Guinea Bissau 2-1.

Mali will tackle Mauritania in Monday’s first match starting at 3pm Ghana time (4pm Nigeria time).

Eagles’ coach, Salisu Yusuf is using the tournament as part of preparations for next year’s 5th African Nations Championship, for which Nigeria has qualified after edging Benin Republic on aggregate.
Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.

0 comments:

Post a Comment