Siasia invites 42 for Egypt double header

Victor Moses returns to Super Eagles
By Zazi Bariza

Super Eagles interim coach, Samson Siasia, has called up 42 players for the crucial 2017 AFCON qualifiers against Egypt on March 25 and April 6.

The list features some players who were regulars under ex-coach Sunday Oliseh, such as Captain Ahmed Musa, Carl Ikeme, Ogenyi Onazi, Odion Ighalo, Efe Ambrose and Simon Moses; as well as other established Super Eagles stars like Mikel Obi and Victor Moses.

Also on the list are Manchester City’s teenage sensation Kelechi iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Kenneth Omeruo and Godfrey Oboabona.

There are also players from the victorious U-23 team that won the CAF U-23 Championship last November under Siasia’s tutelage. Goalkeeper Emmanuel Daniel is listed alongside Sincere Seth, Segun Oduduwa, Stanley Dimgba, Azubuike Okechukwu, and Oghenekaro Etebo.

CHAN stars such as Chisom Chikatara, Austin Obaroakpo, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Ifeanyi Matthew, Chima Akas and Usman Mohammed were also not left out.

The Super Eagles are placed second in group G of the Gabon 2017 AFCON Qualifiers, two points behind their next opponents, Egypt.


Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)

Defenders: Kalu Orji Okogbue (Enugu Rangers); Chibuzor Okonkwo (FC IfeanyiUbah); Mathew Etim (Enugu Rangers); Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors); Sincere Seth (Rhapsody FC); Segun Oduduwa (Nath Boys); Chima Akas (Akwa United); Chris Madaki (Kano Pillars); Oke Ogogatewho (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Mathew (Kano Pillars); Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba); Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves); Yau Hassan (Wikki Tourists); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves)
Forwards: Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Prince Aggrey (Kano Pillars); Bright Onyedikachi (IfeanyiUbah); Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors); Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists)


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Matalyspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (West Ham United, England); Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor FK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Fanendo Adi (Portland Timbers, USA)

Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment