Ebere, Nwakali, Osimhen are Nigeria’s lights in CAF Awards tunnel

Ngozi Ebere, Kelechi Nwakali, Victor Osimhen as well as Azubuike Okechukwu and Oghenekaro Etebo will lead the lines for Nigeria in the Glo/CAF Africa Footballer of the year awards.

Ngozi Ebere was nominated in the Women Player of the Year Category while Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen got listed in the Youth Player of the Year Category.

For the Most Promising Talent group, Oghenekaro Etebo and Azubuike Okechukwu got mentions, while Emmanuel Amuneke got a mention in the coach of the year category.

The Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) recently released the nominees for the other categories for the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards. The categories are; Women Player of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Coach of the Year, Referee of the Year, African Legend, National Team of the Year, Women National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Platinum Award.

The list was unveiled at a press conference attended by CAF Excutive member Anjorin Moucharafou and Glo representatives on Monday, 14 December 2015 in Abuja, Nigeria.

The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Football and Media Committees except Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote while Referee of the Year Award will be decided by the votes of CAF Refereeing Committee.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 7, 2016 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Below are the nominees for the various categories in alphabetical order;

Women Player of the Year
·         Gabrielle Onguéné, Cameroon
·         Gaelle Enganamouit, Cameroon
·         Ngozi Ebere, Nigeria
·         N'rehy Tia Ines, Cote d’Ivoire
·         Portia Boakye, Ghana
Youth Player of the Year 
·         Adama Traore, Mali
·         Kelechi Nwakali, Nigeria
·         Samuel Diarra, Mali
·         Victor Osimhen, Nigeria
·         Yaw Yeboah, Ghana

Most Promising Talent      
·         Azubuike Okechukwu, Nigeria
·         Etebo Oghenekaro, Nigeria
·         Djigui Diarra, Mali
·         Mahmoud Abdelmonem ‘kahraba’, Egypt
·         Zinedine Ferhat, Algeria

Coach of the Year 
·         Baye Ba, Mali, U17
·         Emmanuel Amunike, Nigeria U17
·         Fawzi Benzarti, Etoile Sportive de Sahel
·         Hervé Renard, Cote d’ivore
·         Patrice Carteron, TP Mazembe

Referee of the Year
·         Alioum Neant, Cameroon
·         Bakary Papa GASSAMA, Gambia
·         Eric Arnaud OTOGO CASTANE, Gabon
·         Ghead Zaglol GRISHA, Egypt
·         Janny SIKAZWE, Zambia

African Legend
·         Charles Kumi Gyamfi, Ghana
·         Samuel Mbappé Léppé, Cameroon

National Team of the Year
·         Cote d’Ivoire
·         Ghana
·         Mali U17
·         Nigeria U17
·         Nigeria  U-23

Women National Team of the Year
·         Ghana
·         Cameroon
·         South Africa
·         Zimbabwe

Club of the Year
·         USM Algers , Algeria
·         TP Mazembe, DR Congo
·         Orlando Pirates, South Africa

·         Etoile Sportive du Sahel, Tunisia
Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


  1. I'm thinking Oshimen will win his, while Renard will nick Amuneke to the coach award with Ivory Coast getting the team of the year too, but its female version might be given to the Black Queens as well!

    *Ghanaman signing out*