Nigeria to know AFCON opponents on Sunday

The draw for the Final Round of Qualifiers of the Orange Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2015 takes place at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo on Sunday 27th April, from 12:30hours GMT.

The Orange Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers Morocco2015 will be made up of seven groups of four teams who contest home and away fixtures. The seven group winners, seven group runners-up and the best third-placed side will qualify directly for the final tournament. Host Morocco is automatically qualified.


Under the draw procedure, 28 teams will be divided into 4 groups, each pot containing 7 teams based on the CAF classification.

Pot 1: Nigeria, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Tunisia
Pot 2: Algeria, Angola, Cap Verde, Togo, Egypt, South Africa, Cameroun
Pot 3: RD Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Niger, Guinea, Senegal, Soudan
Pot 4: The Seven yet to be decided by the preliminary round matches
(Teams in the same pot cannot be paired against each other)

Matches to decide the final 7 for Pot 4

A total of 28 teams will be divided into two pots each containing 14 teams based on CAF classification.

The 14 teams of the Level 1 namely Libya, Equatorial Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Uganda, Mozambique, Benin, Sierra Leone, Congo, Central Africa Republic, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Liberia and Gambia will be in Pot A.

The 14 teams of Level 2 namely Rwanda, Tanzania, Namibia, Burundi, Lesotho, Guinea Bissau, Madagascar, Chad, Sao Tome, Seychelles, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan and Mauritania will be in Pot B.

Pot C will be empty.

Step 1: A draw made to pick one team from Pot A
Step 2: A draw made to pick one team from Pot B, the team drawn from Pot A will against the team drawn from Pot B
Step 3: The two picked balls from step 1 and 2 will be placed together in Pot C and the first one picked will play the 1st match at home.
This operation will be repeated 14 times to determine the 28 matches.

The 14 winners will play against each other to determine the final seven who will go into the final draw (the forth pot of 7 teams).

Seeded Teams

Seven of the teams going into the draw to be placed who will be placed in Pot 1 are seeded. These are: Nigeria, Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Mali and Tunisia

The Final Tournament

The final tournament of the Orange Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2015 will be played from 17th January through 8th February 2015.

The Opening Ceremony in Marrakech will only have one fixture – the Opening Match of Group A. The second fixture of Group A will be played on 18th January which will also have two matches of Group B.

Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment