Kwara United, Sunshine Stars clash in Ilorin

By Bakare Idowu

Kwara United (In pic) welcome Sunshine Stars in a week 2 encounter of the 2012/2013 Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL.

Kwara played out a goaless draw away to ABS FC in a local derby in week 1 while their visitors Sunshine stars marked its home-coming of the Akure stadium with a 1-0 victory over visiting Kaduna United FC of Kaduna.

Last season in round one, at 1-1, the match was abandoned few minutes to the end of the encounter due to crowd encroachment, which was ignited by the inordinate and malicious antics of the Team Manager of Sunshine Stars.

Afterwards the Organising & Disciplinary committee of NFF found both teams guilty, fined them and ordered a replay behind closed door. KWUFC was banished to the Federal Capital Territory for a match before being considered for a 3 closed door matches at home.

Kwara United however defeated the Akure Gunners by a lone goal courtesy of Seun Sogbeso in the replayed match.

It ended one goal a-piece in the second round when the two sides met at the Ijebu-ode stadium (adopted home of Sunshine), In a must win game to boost Sunshine stars hope of booking a continental ticket, Ibrahim Ajani put Sunshine stars ahead in a goal mouth scramble but Christopher Obiorah of Kwara United share the spoil in the 84th min when he grabbed a late equalizer. Kwara united safe hand Suraj Aiyeleso ensure his side grab the point when he save James Okomu penalty kick in added time.

The match will be handled by highly rated NPFL referee, Gabriel Adigwe who won the 2012 League Bloggers’ Referee of the year award.

Players to watch
Kwara United; Stanley Dimgba, Dare Ojo, Abu Azeez
Sunshine Stars; Ibrahim Ajani
Head to Head
18/10/09 Kwara united 2 Sunshine FC 0
28/03/2010 Sunshine FC 1 Kwara United 0
09/01/2011 Sunshine 1 Kwara United 0
02/07/11 Kwara United 3 Sunshine 2
23/05/2012 Kwara United 1-0 Sunshine Stars fc (Closed door)
12/08/2012   SUNSHINE STARS 1-1 KWUFC

Other NPFL Fixtures
1. Kano Pillars v BAYELSA UNITED  
2. Lobi Stars v Akwa United
3. Dolphins v 3SC
4. Gombe United v ABS
5. kwara United v Sunshine Stars
6. Kaduna United v Sharks
7. Warri Wolves v Heartland
8. NEMBE CITY v Rangers
10. EL-KANEMI-WARRIORS v Wikki Tourists
Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment