Rivers Angels dominate Super Falcons team

Nine players of Port Harcourt based Rivers Angels Sports Club are among twenty one to represent Nigeria’s Super Falcons at the Africa Women Championships

Obubeleye Whyte, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Ebere Ngozi, Josephine Chukwunonye,
Onyinyechi Ohagugha, Stella Mbachu (In pic) Glory Iroka, Azizat Oshoala and Ebere
Orji from the Port Harcourt based Nigeria League champions all made the 21 strong list named by Kadiri Ikhana for the Championship.

The coach travelled to Accra, Ghana on a training camp with 23 players and dropped 2 in compliance with CAF’s rules on number of players to be registered for the tournament.

The affected players were Rivers Angels defender Gloria Ofoegbu and Tawa
Ishola who is an attacker with Sunshine Queens.

Both players exited the Falcons Lizzy Sports Complex camp, in Accra, on
Wednesday evening after the selection was made.

Ofoegbu, who was the captain of the U20 team (Falconets) in Japan earlier in the year, expressed her disappointment but wished the team success in the AWC competition.

“I am disappointed that I did not make team. I respect the coach’s decision and I wish the team success in the competition.”

She added: “I have been in camp with my teammates for over five weeks now and I know how good they are and how hard they have worked. I know they will return home with the trophy.”

Ikhana had some words of encouragement for the two players saying, “Ofoegbu and Tawa are very good players but I can only take 21 players to the tournament. They did very well to make it to this stage and I want to encourage them to continue working hard.”

GOALKEEPERS: Precious Dede (Bayelsa Queens), Tochukwu Oluehi (Sunshine
Queens), Ebubele Whyte (Rivers Angels).

 DEFENDERS: Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels), Helen Ukaonu (Sunnana SK), Joy
Jegede (Delta Queens), Ebere Ngozi (Rivers Angels), Onome Ebi (Attesihir
Belediyesi, Turkey), Gladys Akpa (Sunshine Queens), Josephine Chukwunonye
(Rivers Angels).

MIDFIELDERS: Onyinyechi Ohagugha (Rivers Angels), Stella Mbachu (Rivers
Angels), Esther Sunday (Sunshine Queens), Ogonna Chukwudi (Umea IK,
Sweden), Glory Iroka (Rivers Angels), Rita Chikwelu (Umea IK).

FORWARDS: Azizat Oshoala (Rivers Angels), Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens), Ebere
Orji (Rivers Angels), Emueje Ogbiagbveha (BIK, Kazakhstan), Perpetua
Nkwocha (Sunnana SK, Sweden).

Equatorial Guinea hosts the 8th edition of The African Women’s Championship from the 28th of October to the 11th on November 2012.

Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment